Restless Souls

IMG_1698

Hello there, lovely readers. I write to you quite somber, these past few weeks have been emotionally exhausting. I’m a third decan  Aquarian, so this early half of 2014 has felt like “All work and no play makes Lucille a dull girl”. I’ve been wanting to crawl up the walls! So instead of going completely insane, I decided to put some images together to get my thoughts out. The self portraits are from a small series I worked on yesterday. The latter outdoor shots are from a hike I did a few weeks ago at Muir Woods with a dear childhood friend I’ve recently become reacquainted with. The last photo was shot by Wendy De La Torre, edited by yours truly.IMG_1706

IMG_1707

 

photo 1

Processed with VSCOcam with x1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with x1 preset

I’ve also begun writing a bit of poetry- the following is a very rough draft of something I’ve been working on to get through these restless days.

“Summerland”

wild flowers,

through pavement still,

needing freedom,

as I climb that hill.

I feel that pain,

it lingers still,

with the city’s sound,

that constant shrill.

Take me with you,

down that road,

leading nowhere,

but my soul’s home.

Cool streams,

fiery breeze,

I need that salty, sweet.

Waking dreams,

oceans meet,

land ends,

and I retreat.

Flying leaves,

silent streets,

toes tangled in cool

white sheets.

Crackled fire,

fur so sleek,

you pull me close,

to your heartbeat.

That flower,

proud and tall,

taunting my heart,

provoking my fall.

But we wil return

to the sacred land.

You and me,

hand in hand.

soon, my dear, soon.

To summerland.

Leave a comment